What is the Gateway Award

About the Gateway Award

gateway-awardThe Gateway Award is an activity award scheme which people with a learning disability, of any age or ability, can take part in. The award encourages people to gain new skills and experiences, become more independent, make friends, be active in the community and improve their health and wellbeing.
There are three levels of the Gateway Award, made up of five different activities: Bronze, Silver and Gold. Participants will receive a certificate upon completion of each stage.

How you can get involved

People can enrol and be supported with the award at a New Forest Mencap

Who can take part?

People with a learning disability of any age or ability can take part in the award. People decide their own goals and activities and work at their own pace with the level of support they require.

How do people enrol?

People can enrol and be supported with the award at New Forest Mencap. A centre can enrol individuals by submitting a participant information form. When all forms are submitted they will be assessed and an award will be made.


If you would like further information about how to get started, please contact:  [email protected]

Website design by brightsouth